Government and Political Affairs « EMBASSY OF PANAMA IN JAPAN

Government and Political Affairs

National SymbolsPeople Government and Political Affairs Economy History OutlineMedia Holidays

Country Official Name
(ENGLISH)Republic of Panama
(SPANISH)República de Panamá
Government Type
The Republic of Panama is a sovereign and independent state. Its government is unitary, republican, democratic and representative. It is composed of three governing branches: the Executive, Legislative and Judicial.
Administrative Divisions
10 provinces: Bocas del Toro, Chiriquí, Coclé, Colón, Darién, Herrera, Los Santos, Panamá, Panamá Oeste, Veraguas
75 districts
5 autonomous indian territories (comarcas): Kuna Yala, Ngöbe Buglé, Naso, Bribri, Emberá Wounaan
National Day
November 3, 1903
October 11, 1972; major reforms adopted in 1978, 1983, 1994 and 2004
Legal System
Based on civil law system; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court of Justice; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations.
Unicameral Legislative Assembly (71 seats) Members are elected by popular vote for five-year terms (Last election: May 4th, 2019)
18 years of age; voluntary
Laurentino Cortizo (inaugurated on July 1st, 2019)
Diplomatic Relations with Japan

Panama and Japan established diplomatic relations on January 7th, 1904. On January 7th, 2004, Panama and Japan celebrated the Centenary of the Establishment of Diplomatic Relations.